Incredible Blog Post by Staci West of Lattes & Lipstick! Definitely worth a read

Lattes & Lipstick

FullSizeRender-6Reading about human rights and seeing the images are two completely different experiences. The Human Rights, Human Wrongs exhibit covers 1945 to the early 90s “featuring more than 200 original press prints.”

I didn’t know what to expect but the warning signs by the stairs told me it wasn’t for the faint of heart. The atmosphere changes very quickly after leaving the ground floor cafe towards the exhibit. The journey to the exhibit is set by a timeline in the stairwell to set the scene for the images to come.FullSizeRender-13

Standing in just the entranceway I was completely silenced. I’ve read the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR) multiple times, I’ve picked it apart and read between the lines to better apply international law, but seeing the letters in black and white made me speechless.FullSizeRender-1

A lot of my research focuses on Article 4, “freedom from slavery,” and a…

View original post 568 more words

